Share |

A Wife's Hearing

Home  Spirituality  A Wife's Hearing

By Wenping Li

 A Joke

A husband suspected that his wife had a hearing problem. In order to confirm this, he walked up quietly behind her and at about ten paces away, he asked, "Can you hear me, Huifang?"

His wife was busy and did not reply.

He then moved five steps closer and asked, "Can you hear me, Huifang?"

His wife still did not answer.

Startled to realize how bad his wife's hearing was, he moved up another two paces and asked, "Huifang, can you hear me now?"

This time he heard his wife say, "Yes, I can hear you! I've already told you three times."

As I laugh at the story, I sense that I am seeing a reflection of myself. How many times have I acted like this "husband?" That is, when there is a problem, I tend to think that it must be the other person's fault - but then it turns out that I am the one who is to blame! At least, I am a part of the problem. Sometimes, I think I am "being tolerant of" other people, without realizing that I am actually the one who is being "tolerated", or the one who needs other people's tolerance. Unfortunately, most of the time we do not even realize that we are deceiving ourselves.

The husband in the joke was not a bad person. Because he was not so "confident" about his suspicion, he used a three-step process to search for the truth. And happily at the third step he did find out the true situation, that is, that his dear wife had indeed retained her good hearing. We as the "husbands" may not even have this questioning spirit in regard to ourselves, because we genuinely think we have enough evidence to prove that there's nothing wrong with us.

Furthermore, if others share our opinion, we feel even more confident. As to how good the "hearing" of those who share our opinions is, and how good our own is, well, we don't have time to consider that. We have already forgotten the lesson we learned from the story of "The Neighbor Suspected of Stealing the Axe" from our early school days, or the stories of "The Blind Men and the Elephant" and "Three Men Make a Tiger".

 "The Picture In One's Mind"

The joke leads me on to another thought. When we are in the audience watching a movie, we often feel sorry for the characters who are not aware of the entire situation and therefore do not know the truth. Have we ever realized that in real life we are just like those "characters in a movie" too?

Like the characters in the movie, we too may not see the whole situation because of the particular position we are in. Our own personality, too, can stand in the way. These two factors alone are enough to disqualify us from judging others. Besides, most of the time, we already have some predetermined scenario in our mind, so we blithely see only what we want to see on many matters or about other people, the so-called "Picture In One's Mind".

So it is just too easy to argue and to hurt others. The Bible wisely teaches us not to judge others. Lovingly it warns us not to do what is beyond our ability for the sake of both our physical health and our spiritual health. The book of Proverbs tells us, "Even a fool is thought wise if he keeps silent, and discerning if he holds his tongue." So, we who are born with "poor hearing" can improve our own "psychological environment" by not being in too much of a hurry to deal with others' "deafness".

Deafness "Reproduced"

Of course, there are times when we are not all that confident; we just want, like the husband in the joke, to confirm our suspicions. However, we still use our own ways to try to prove things. We may pause at the first step, or better, at the second step, and we may still jump to the conclusion that our wives are deaf. The poor "wife" gently saying "I can hear you", most likely had no idea that she was judged to be deaf, and that this deafness had upset the "husband" standing behind her or even hurt him, and got him thinking of lots of her past defects.

So this "deafness" reproduces itself. The form of "reproduction" depends on the symptom of the "deafness". If the husband has already decided that his wife's "deafness" is a serious problem, no matter how much he thinks about it, if he is not thinking in forgiveness and love, the "deafness" remains something unresolved in his mind.

He takes the "problem" with him wherever he goes - on vacation, to work, to meals, to the toilet...Just when the "husband" thinks he has forgotten about what has been bothering him, up it pops again and he feels as if the sunlight has suddenly disappeared.

It is not just that. If one day the "wife" finds out about this "theory of deafness", there is no telling if she might actually catch the "deafness" or "mouth disease", or even "heart disease" and "lung disease". And on goes the self-fulfilling prophecy. If there is no effective "brake" to stop it once and for all, the disease will go on reproducing itself.

An Invisible Team Of People

As I thought about this, I had a horrible feeling. Consider. From childhood, through adolescence and on to old age, as we have passed through others' lives or traveled across others' worlds, we may never know how many women we have judged to be "Mrs. Deaf". So as we have travelled life's path we have been towing behind us this huge team of invisible people. What a pain!

Our lives are not meant to be like this. God wants us to have peace of mind, so that all "who are weary and burdened" can go to Him, and He may give us rest. He knows that we have so many dead knots in our hearts, and He wants us to forgive others as we were forgiven, so that we can cast aside our baggage and enjoy life. He wants to free us. The one who is set free by Him and His promises is free indeed.

However, we are often too "busy" to come to Him and receive this freedom of the heart. Besides, we think we are so smart that we cannot resist the desire to show our "depth" of thought and our "perceptiveness". But most of the time it is like this: as soon as we start thinking that being "deep" and "perceptive" is the most reliable way of dealing with people, we begin acting like fools.

Our being "deep" and "perceptive" and the resultant judgmental spirit, helps no one. It is destructive. It is like a double-edged knife, only good for hurting. It is also like a tangled ball of string, entangling both the one who is doing the judging and the one who is being judged. It hurts both parties and onlookers can only shudder.

Unless the parties have a faith that is deeply rooted in love, this monster will not disappear; instead it will grow stronger and larger, bearing the evil fruits of bitterness, hatred, self pity and self righteousness, etc. Even though we may have the fruits of joy and peace at the beginning, these fruits can be pushed off by the Evil One.

He Is Actually A Fool

So, it is better for us not to try to be "deep" and "perceptive". The more unsure a person is of himself, the more open he is to wisdom. Because it is only when we are not sure of ourselves, that we will look for what is reliable and God-honoring. It is only when we realize that we too are simply actors on the stage of life, that we are willing to suspend our critical judgment of the other players and seek help from the Author of the universe. He is the One who knows everything.

It is hard for an intelligent person to realize that he is actually a fool, and the greatest wisdom of a fool is to submit his all to our all-wise Lord and allow Him to bring our life journey to its completion. As "wise fools" we can enjoy the blessings that only a "fool" is given and avoid the confusion and grief that can be caused by "smart guys".

 When we act like foolish "husbands", we will realize that we actually have very nice "wives", who not only have "good hearing" but don't complain about their husbands' "deafness".

 

* This article was originally translated by the Overseas Campus Magazine. It was edited by Carol Tang later.

 

Related Readings:

Bookmark and Share

太太的耳朵

主頁  成長、人際  太太的耳朵


作者:李文屏

一個笑話

一位先生覺得他太太耳朵不好使了,為了證明自己的感覺,他悄悄退到太太身後十步遠的地方,問太太∶「惠芳,你能聽見我嗎?」

太太忙著,沒有回答。

他於是走到離太太五步遠的地方,問∶「惠芳,你能聽到我嗎?」

太太仍然沒有回答。

他沒有想到太太的耳朵聾到這個地步,只好再往前走了兩步,問太太∶「惠芳,你現在能聽到我了嗎?」

這回他聽到太太說∶「聽到了!這已經是第三次回答你了。」

莞爾之余,我不禁有點照鏡子的感覺。不知何時、何地、有多少次我也做過這樣的「先生」──遇到事情,以為毛病出在別人,誰知其實出在自己。至少,自己是毛病的一部分。有時候,以為是自己在「寬容」別人,不知道實際上自己才是被寬容的人,或者是需要被寬容的人。可惜我們往往不知道自己被自己蒙蔽得這麽厲害。

笑話中的先生還好,對自己沒有那麽「自信」,有取證三部曲。而且幸運地在第三步時發現了真相,找回了耳朵健全的可愛太太。我們這些現實生活中的「先生」,對自己卻不一定那麽有懷疑精神,因為我們實在以為我們已經有證據了,而且證據是足夠充分的。

加之有時候還有他人意見跟我們相同,我們就更有把握了。至於這些與我們意見相同的人的「耳朵」狀態如何,我們自己的「耳朵」狀態如何,我們就顧不得了。更顧不得早期教育中就學過的「疑鄰竊斧」是怎麽回事,也早忘了什麽叫「盲人摸象」和「三人成虎」。

心有丘壑

這也使我想到,當我們在屏幕前作觀眾的時候,常為劇中人因不知全局,從而不明真相而扼腕嘆息,誰知我們自己在生活中就只是一個「劇中人」。

作為劇中人,我們的位置決定了我們沒有能力明白全貌。而我們的本性,更使我們常常罩在一己之私中。這兩點已經足夠取消我們論斷人的資格。何況,許多時候,我們心裡往往已經事先有了「峰」,所以對人對事不小心就會「左看成峰右看也成峰」,以致「心有丘壑」,「哧溜」就進入了因論斷而引起的紛爭和傷害中。聖經教我們不要論斷人,實在是語重心長。這是愛我們,體恤我們能力有限,所以不要我們去做超出能力的事,確保我們和我們周圍的人「心體」健康。《箴言》說,「愚昧人若閉口不言,也可稱為聰明。」那麽我們這些先天「聽力」不足的人,若不是那麽熱心於治療別人的「耳疾」,也可算是為我們的「心態環境」衛生做了點貢獻。

耳疾「續疾」

當然,有時我們也並不那麽自以為是,同笑話中的先生一樣要求求證。可惜我們往往以自己的方式去求證,而且只證了第一步,或者到了第二步,就認為太太的耳疾「證據確鑿」了。那個可憐的「太太」,在溫柔地回答「聽得到」時,一定想不到自己已被判患疾,而且這個疾病可能正在困擾身後的「先生」,說不定還在傷害他,以至讓他又想起她昔日的諸多不好來。

於是,「耳疾」又演繹出「續疾」來,是什麽樣的「續疾」則由「耳疾」的癥狀而定。如果是一些在「先生」看來屬重量級的「耳疾」,不管「先生」怎麽想,只要是不寬恕地想,不在愛裡來想,「耳疾」就會梗在他心裡,不能消化,由「先生」帶著它到處「免費旅行」,去度假,去工作,去吃飯,去廁所┅┅「先生」自以為已經將它忘記了的時候,它卻冷不丁出來晃一下,陽光就黯淡下來了。

事情還不止於此。當有一天,這個「耳疾論」讓「太太」知道了,「太太」沒準就真的開始有「耳疾」,或者「口疾」,甚至「心疾」、「肺疾」了。於是「續疾」又再生「續續疾」。如果沒有一個特別好用的「剎車裝置」,使「疾」停止並就地死亡,不知它還會怎樣生生不息。

隱形人馬

這樣想來,不覺有些「恐怖」。因為從小到大,到老,我們穿梭、旅行於他人的生活與生命,被我們斷定為「耳疾太太」的,實在不知有多少。拖著後面這樣一大隊我們意識到或沒意識到的隱形人馬奔走人生,人生怎麽能夠不是一個苦差呢?

上帝賜給我們生命的本意完全不是如此。他要我們心中安寧,所以要「凡勞苦擔重擔的」都到他那裡去,他就給我們安息。他知道我們心中有重重纏累,所以要我們用被他饒恕的心,去饒恕別人,好丟掉包袱,享受生命。他要把自由給我們,應許他若讓人自由了,那人就必自由了。

可惜,我們常常太「忙」,不肯到他跟前去接受心靈的自由。加上我們實在很聰明,有時不「深刻」一下、不「眼光犀利」一下,似乎很難。不過事實往往是這樣的∶一旦我們以為自己的「深刻」和「犀利」是靠得住的時候,我們其實已經開始發傻了。

因為,我們的「深刻」和「犀利」,我們的論斷,除了破壞之外,沒有一點建設力。它其實是一把雙刃的匕首,為傷害而存在;又是一根有繁殖能力的繩索,結著論斷者與被論斷者的心,弄得他人痛,我們自己痛,或者兩者皆痛,旁觀者也看得心裡秋風陣陣。

若是當事人沒有深深地劄根在愛的信仰裡,這怪物就絕不會自行脫落,反是深深紮下,壯大,生出苦毒、怨恨、自憐、自義、放棄等諸多惡果來。我們心裡本來也許還有一些喜樂與平安的甜美果子,這時也被這些惡果擠落了。

原是傻的

所以還是不要那麽「深刻」、「犀利」的好。多一些對自己的不信賴,是智慧的開端的開端,因為唯有我們不信賴自己時,我們才會去尋求那可信賴的,可敬畏的∶唯有當我們意識到我們只是生命劇場中一角色時,我們才會放棄本於角色的論斷,而去求助於宇宙的劇作者。唯有他才洞知一切。

看來,聰明人最難得到的,是發現自己原來是傻的,而傻人的最高智慧,則是把自己的一切交給最智者上帝,由他來替我們成全生命之旅。做個有智慧的「傻人」,會因此擁有「傻人」才有的福氣,並脫離「聰明人」特有的混亂與悲哀。

當我們做個傻「先生」時,我們也會發現,我們原來擁有的是那麽好的「太太」,「她們」不僅「耳朵好使」,而且不嫌棄我們的「耳聾」。

 

*本文原載《海外校園》第五十七期

相關閱讀: